Guy Next Door: Profiles in Deception

He was in my extended family.  He came to family dinners when I was groiwing up.  I knew he had molested someone in my family.  He was flirtacious and charming to me, but then I was fiftyish years younger than him.  At the time the balance of his presence at family gatherings and his predations of a child in the family were both facts.  I knew not to trust him, but he was there.  As far as I could tell no one had confronted him and he suffered no social dents as a result of molesting a young girl.  He was well-educated, well-spoken.  Charming.  Remember the word charming.  Pedophiles are often charming.

 

Leave a Reply

