Mark 1: After me

>Mark 1:7-8 (NIV)
And this was his message: “After me will come one more powerful than I, the thongs of whose sandals I am not worthy to stoop down and untie. [8] I baptize you with water, but he will baptize you with the Holy Spirit.”

We are an easily distracted bunch. what? Something about shoes? Something about baptism?

Most of us want to be the best at what we do and John was so sold out he looked like a lunatic. Yet his message is preparation for someone else.

He says

look at me, now wait for someone so much better that I don’t deserve to tie his shoes…

Wow.

Baptism with water is all symbol–a ring on a finger, a hose down in the backyard.

Baptism by the Spirit of God. That is resurrection, transformation–the breath of heaven. Life poured out for us.

And John is right. Jesus is amazing. The love of God walks in.

No one ever the same.

Leave a Reply

