How do you that?

Mark 8:35-37 (NIV)
For whoever wants to save his life will lose it, but whoever loses his life for me and for the gospel will save it. [36] What good is it for a man to gain the whole world, yet forfeit his soul? [37] Or what can a man give in exchange for his soul?

I was young–early 20s, and my idea of gaining the whole world was laughably pedestrian–love. I wanted true love.

But God was making it painfully clear that He wanted me to walk away from my dream. He wanted me to be lonely and go far from home. Ugh. I was afraid.

But I was miserable resisting Him. I finally knuckled under–I agreed to try to find a job teaching in China. I agreed, then hoped it was just a test.

Nope. It was the real thing. I went to China and learned that He was all I needed–I wasn’t lonely, I was with Him. He brought me amazing friends. He took care of me. He taught me to stick close.

Sticking close to Jesus is costly. People don’t always think you are a great party guest when you bring Jesus with you. He tends to push uncomfortable issues.

Yet there is a secret: if you are willing to be a loser for him, he…

Gives you true love.

He sent me to China in order to prepare me to get the very precious gifts that I thought he wanted to take.

Go ahead. Try it.
Fall
In love
With Jesus.

Jump in.

Leave a Reply

