Little Pink Sneakers

Let me say this straight off–I am a disenfranchised Texan. This happened several years ago at the end of a long and fruitless battle to keep children safe from identified sex offenders.

But last night helped.

I applaud every elected official who stood up for children’s rights in Texas last night.

Funny how the national press has focused on Senator Davis’ shoes. I focus on Ernest Hemingway’s. I have always loved the story of the six-word short story, not so much because it had to be Papa who told it, but because my heart has been broken more than once by the shoes never worn by babies–babies I lost to miscarriages or adoptions. I miss the children who should have worn the shoes.

Over 84 thousand babies lost their lives last year in Texas. Too many empty pink sneakers.

If you think that is a tragedy there is something you can do–

Trace the outline of a pair of baby shoes on a piece of paper and send it to Ms. Davis.

A six-word story is amazing. A picture is worth a thousand words. But the world entire is in the eyes of a child.

Speak for those who have been silenced.

Leave a Reply

