Predator Warning

My dog likes his walks, and my schedule usually makes walking possible after dark.

Last night we were walking in a suburban neighborhood in the hill country when I crossed the street toward what looked like a black dog, perhaps the shadow of a dog?

I had not gotten all the way across the street when the animal emitted a loud, threatening feline hiss.

Dog and I made for the opposite side of the street! I think it was a panther, maybe a bobcat. I have heard mountain lions before and this one did not have a typical mountain lion lament…

It was spooky, and even weirder in the midst of houses.

I think I should probably warn the people in the neighborhood. I doubt myself wondering– who will care? Who would listen?

3 thoughts on “Predator Warning

Leave a Reply

